JULY 26, 2017

Above: 1/3 of the Cast of Avengers: Infinity War (It’s huge.)

In 2010, the Avengers assembled on the Comic Con stage for the very first time. At the time, Marvel Studios was still a relatively young movie studio who was freshly purchased by Disney. They had big ambitions for a shared film universe and with only three films under their belt at the time, studio president Kevin Feige had a lot to prove.

Fast forward seven years, nearly twenty movies  and several billions at at the box office later, Marvel Studios have made themselves the ultimate trendsetters and force to be reckoned with in Hollywood. The Marvel Cinematic Universe or MCU films have grossed over $12 Billion at the worldwide box office, all with critical praise.

The Avengers films are the culmination of all the other films in Marvel’s self titled “Phases”. This year, D23 and Comic Con took place a week apart in July. The first footage of Avengers: Infinity War was shown off to thunderous applause and dropped jaws. Infinity War is the third Avengers film in name and takes place in Phase Three of the MCU. Some scenes are said to feature as much as 30 characters!

The trailer was only shown for the crowds at D23 and Comic Con but check out a description if you’re interested. A trailer is expected to make its way online later this year.

Unlike Warner Bros’s DC Films, Marvel comic properties have film rights that belong to different studios. Sony owns Spider-Man and his family of characters and Fox owns X-MEN and its mutants. The success of the Marvel Cinematic Universe led Sony to an unprecedented sharing of the Spider-Man character back to Marvel Studios. This allowed Spidey to play with other the Avengers in Captain America: Civil War in 2016 and then in his own film Spider-Man: Homecoming in 2017 which was a shared production between Sony and Marvel Studios and featured Robert Downey Jr’s Iron Man/Tony Stark.

Since Marvel Studio’s success, other studios have announced their own shared film universes. Some make perfect sense like Warner Bros’ DC Film universe as like Marvel, are based on comic book properties. Others, such as Ubisoft and Activision (both video game studios) have announced plans  build film their own film universe franchises based on their respective game properties.

Marvel has come a long way since the release of Iron Man in 2008. Some believe the superhero fad is dying out… according to Marvel Studios it has only just begun.

Comic Con 2017 Concept Art – Avengers: Infinity War – Ryan Meinerding


Avengers: Infinity War hits theaters May 4, 2018
Avengers 4 hits theaters May 3, 2019

List of Marvel Cinematic Universe Films:


Iron Man (2008), The Incredible Hulk (2008), Iron Man 2 (2010), Thor (2011), Captain America: The First Avengers (2011) and Marvel’s The Avengers (2012)


Iron Man 3 (2013), Thor: The Dark World (2013), Captain America: The Winter Solider (2014), Guardians of the Galaxy (2014), Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015), Ant-Man (2015)


Captain America: Civil War (2016), Doctor Strange (2016), Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017), Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017), Thor: Ragnarok (2017), Black Panther (2018), Avengers: Infinity War (2018), Ant-Man and The Wasp (2018), Captain Marvel (2019), Untitled Avengers (2019)

Avengers: Infinity War features:
Directors: Anthony & Joe Russo
Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark/Iron Man
Chris Evans as Steve Rogers/Captain America
Chris Hemsworth as Thor Odinson
Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner/Hulk
Scarlett Johansson as Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow
Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton/Hawkeye
Chadwick Boseman as T’Challa/Black Panther
Paul Rudd as Scott Lang/Ant-Man
Paul Bettany as The Vision
Elizabeth Olsen as Wanda Maximoff/Scarlet Witch
Don Cheadle as James Rhodes/War Machine
Evangeline Lilly as Hope van Dyne/Wasp
Anthony Mackie as Sam Wilson/Falcon
Sebastian Stan as Bucky Barnes/Winter Soldier
Chris Pratt as Peter Quill/Star-Lord
Zoe Saldana as Gamora
Dave Bautista as Drax the Destroyer
Vin Diesel as Groot
Bradley Cooper as Rocket Raccoon (voice)
Sean Gunn as Rocket Raccoon (mo-cap)
Pom Klementieff as Mantis
Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange/Doctor Strange
Brie Larson as Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel
Tom Hiddleston as Loki Laufeyson
Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury
Cobie Smulders as Maria Hill
Benedict Wong as Wong
Karen Gillan as Nebula
Michael Rooker as Yondu
Danai Gurira as Okoye
Benicio del Toro as Taneleer Tivan/The Collector
Peter Dinklage in an undisclosed role
Terry Notary in an undisclosed role
Tom Vaughn Lawlor as Ebony Maw
Tom Holland as Peter Parker/Spider-Man
Josh Brolin as Thanos



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: